Mississippi State’s Gabe Jackson wins C Spire Conerly Trophy as best college …

JACKSON, Miss.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–All American offensive lineman Gabe Jackson, a four-year starter at
Mississippi State who helped lead the Bulldogs to their fourth Egg Bowl
victory in five years over in-state arch rival Ole Miss, won the C Spire
Conerly Trophy on Tuesday night as the Magnolia State’s top college
football player in 2013.

The fifth-year senior and Liberty, Miss. native also won the first Ken
Hull Trophy as the state’s best offensive lineman. Jackson is coming off
a spectacular season this year as he was named the SEC’s Lineman of the
Week on three separate occasions. He did not allow a sack all season and
is expected to be among the first offensive linemen taken in the 2014
NFL draft.

Jackson received the trophy during a special awards program Tuesday
night in Jackson at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum from
master of ceremonies Rick Cleveland, MSHOF executive director, and Jim
Richmond, vice president of Corporate Communications for C Spire
Wireless, title sponsor of the award since 1998.

He edged out four other finalists, including Ole Miss junior quarterback
Bo Wallace, the 2012 C Spire Conerly winner, along with Alcorn State
running back Arnold Walker, Millsaps College running back Mike
Barthelemy and Jackson State quarterback Clayton Moore vying for the
coveted award, which is named after College Football Hall of Famer
Charlie Conerly, who also starred for the New York Giants.

Jackson becomes the first offensive lineman to win the top award in the
Conerly Trophy’s 18-year history. He joins four other Mississippi State
Bulldogs as former winners of the coveted award, including running backs
J.J. Johnson (1998), Jerious Norwood (2005) and Anthony Dixon (2009) and
linebacker Chris White (2010).

A panel of 50 print, television and radio news media members across the
state selected the finalists and the winner from among 10 nominees from
each of Mississippi’s football-playing four year colleges. For the first
time, fan voting counted for 10 percent of the overall vote. Barthelemy
led the fan voting, followed by Jackson and Walker. The Kent Hull Trophy
winner was selected by a panel of experts, including former college
coaches, players and pro scouts.

Jackson praised the Bulldogs coaching staff and credited his teammates
for helping him become one of the dominant offensive tackles in college
football. “It’s such an honor to be named the top college football
player in the state,” Jackson said. “But I really have to give credit to
my teammates and coaches. It’s all about team, and everyone works
together to make sure we get better each day. That’s what makes this so

C Spire has sponsored the outstanding player award program for all major
college sports in Mississippi since 1998. “We’re very pleased with the
caliber of players selected as nominees and finalists for the C Spire
Conerly Trophy,” Richmond said. “This has been a very strong year in
terms of individual and overall performance and leadership among all of
the schools who submitted nominees for the award. Our winner is not only
a great football player, but an outstanding young man with good
character, a strong record of community involvement and a terrific work

Now in its 18th year, the Conerly Trophy presented by C Spire
is named after the late Charlie Conerly – the only football inductee in
the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame who was an All-American at a
Mississippi university, an NFL rookie of the year and NFL All-Pro member
and quarterbacked a team to a world championship.

Speak Your Mind