‘Adequate technical, professional institutes absent in the state’

SHILLONG: Meghalaya College Teachers’ Association organised its 31st General Conference recently in Lady Keane College in which Deputy Chief Minister, in charge Education Prof R.C. Laloo was the chief guest.

Prof R.C. Laloo while delivering his inaugural address stated that education in the state has grown tremendously both in terms of quantity and quality and that it has become more competitive each year. He stated that as the Education Minister, he is committed to provide the students quality education even as he appreciated the efforts of the teaching community in the state.

Dr. L. Cajee while appreciating the early declaration of results in Osmania University and Madras University, which was not the case with NEHU, called for greater dedication from the teaching community in the interests of the students.

However, he admitted that the number of students enrolled in colleges under NEHU has grown tremendously and the credit for this goes to the teachers in those colleges.

Dr B.H. Buam, the President of the Association in her presidential address lamented that Shillong has been losing grip of the past glory of being the centre of education due to the lack of strengthening and expansion of the number of government-funded colleges which are the main stay of education in the state.

She also added that with the absence of technical and professional institute in the state, thousands of students are forced to look outside the state in pursuit of higher education.  She also stressed the need to bridge the gap between the rural and urban areas in order to access quality education.

In this Conference the new Executive Committee was constituted with Dr. B.H. Buam, College of Teacher Education (PGT) as the President, Dr. E. Kharkongor (Shillong College) and Dr. Jiten Chandra Dang (Donbosco College, Tura) as the Vice-Presidents, Batskhem Myrboh (Synod College) as the General Secretary, David. A. Kharchandy (Synod College), Sanggra A. Sangma (Donbosco College, Tura), Dr. C. Marsharing (Shillong College), Dr. Prashant Sarkhel (St. Edmund’s College), Shiv Pradhan (St. Anthony’s College), Dr. Maryvelle Jyrwa (Lady Keane College) as the Joint Secretaries, Amit Mazumdar (St. Edmund’s College) as the Treasurer with 14 other Executive Members.

Speak Your Mind